PDA

View Full Version : I would like some opinions please

wsuwrhr
06-30-2004, 06:47 PM
Advise, ideas, help, criticism needed.
I know some of you operate your own businesses, or run them for other people. I would like your help.
As most of you know I operate a small machine shop of my own as a side business. I machine proprietary parts for businesses, my own parts for sale, and custom parts on occasion. I have been operating at this scale for a few years now.
I am getting behinder by the day, and more jobs are piling in. I have been in this business long enough to know that it is feast or famine. When it rains it pours. I am getting to the point where I am finally dreaming of making a living out of my side business.
I am employed as a toolmaker and I make a decent wage, which is part of the problem. It is so hard to walk away from a good job for me. I am sure I don't have as many liabilities as some of you out there, but I am worried about what will happen if it doesn't pay enough to stay afloat. Good paying manufacturing jobs are hard to find. What I am getting at is I doubt they will hire me back. It is pretty much sink or swim.
So I was wondering if anyone wants to share their stories of how their business started up. Big/small whatever. Maybe even a few of you that do machining/manufacturing.
Post here if you would, or PM me with any help or advise you have.
I would really apprieciate it.
Brian

TCHB
06-30-2004, 06:51 PM
I have a good friend that just closed up a large machine shop becuase of cash flow. He was doing aerospace work here in Orange County. If you would like to talk to him PM me and I will give you his email.

Moneypitt
06-30-2004, 06:54 PM