PDA

View Full Version : high mile diesels...

Cole
07-06-2004, 01:49 PM
I will be in the market for a diesel F-250 and find a lot of
1999-2002 f-250 diesels with 100-175k miles on them....usually with 5th wheel tow packages installed, which leads me to believe they were probably used for towing ie:(snow birds, delivery of rv's, traveling,etc) Should i stay away from these kind of high mile trucks or like every sales man tells me ...."they are just getting broken in".....They are reasonbly priced, thats why i am asking...$15,000-20,000K for a Crew cab, leather, all the bells and whistles. I dont think most of the dealers will have the service records available...so i wont be able to check the consistant oil changes, tire rotating, etc, etc!!
Whats your thoughts?
Cole

HavasuDreamin'
07-07-2004, 08:11 AM
Well I have no experience with diesels, but for me the risk of getting burned is to great. I would opt for something with a lot less miles and pay more. Just my $.02

Lightning
07-07-2004, 09:11 AM
If you drive a lot and if you plan on holding on to the truck for a while I would not buy one with over 100k. Don't forget that the tranny in those older ford diesels are not the best and often times need to be rebuilt.

syke-o
07-07-2004, 01:34 PM
are the 99-02 models now considered old?? i was thinkin along the same lines as cole.. i have an 01 f250 v8 now and was thinking of getting a used f250 diesel in the same year range... are they really that bad??:confused:

Lightning
07-07-2004, 02:20 PM
I would not say they are old, however the technology in those trucks was pretty much the same since 1997. When i said old tranny - I was referring to the fact that they have a totally new and different tranny that they use now.

Woodster
07-07-2004, 10:30 PM