Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Home loan question.

Bad2DBone
    I know I am a noob here and I don't even own a boat but I came here to look at some of the Olds powered jet boats and have decided to come by and check out the boats and also all the beautiful ladies you guys post.
    So with that out of the way, it seem that there are a few of you here that are into real estate in one way or the other and I was wondering if I could get some help.
    We just bought a new house and are in the process of trying to sell our old one. We have an intrested buyer but I guess in their proposal they want to do something called a "seller buy back".?
    We got a call for our real estate gal tonight and she was saying the buyer is writing up the proposal and they are asking for us to carry part of the loan.
    The house is 295K and they want to do a 15% buy back, which in my book is about 45K give or take. And pay us 6% intrest, and pay us off in 4 years or less.
    To me it sounded like a good way to make some extra money, but, we have a good friend who works at WaMu doing home loans and she said this is a very big red flag. She said we would be #2 on the loan and if something goes wrong and they can't pay and the bank gets the house and sells it for what the borrower owes then we are out the extra cash they owe us. She also said if a bank wont lend them the full ammount then there must be a good reason so why would we give them a loan. Or that they must not qualify for the full price.
    Has any one ever heard of this? Does it work? Is it a good way to get screwed out of alot of money?
    thanks..

bigd1