Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: GPS Speedometer

Taylorman
    Does anyone have a GPS speedometer in their jet? I saw a Nordskog gps speedometer in a magazine today. The description said it also has a tachometer, compass and voltmeter built in. Where does the receiver for a GPS speedometer mount? Its a digital unit. Im thinking about getting it so i could have an in dash speedometer, tach and voltmeter all in one. That would free up on gauge hole so i could add either a water pressure or oil temp gauge.

FoMoCo
    Sounds like a good idea to me! I was thinking about doing the same thing, but seems a little expensive when you have to by the gauge and the receiver.

Taylorman
    I was told that Unchained has one in his boat.

Unchained
    I've been using a Nordskog GPS for 5 years.
    They're a good company to deal with.
    After about two years use it had a problem where it wanted to revert to knots instead of MPH.
    I kept wondering why it read so slow (off 15%) .........I checked it against the speedo in my truck when towing and that showed me the problem.
    They gave me a new one no questions asked and told me they would warranty it for as long as I owned it.
    I compared it to the timing lights when I raced a few years ago and it will read off a couple MPH because the GPS update time is 1 second.
    The receiver is about the size of a computer mouse and I mounted it up under the dash.
    Here's a poor mans datalogger.
    http://www.childsdale-ind-prop.com/poormansdatalog.jpg
    http://www.michigan***boats.com/images/unchdash.jpg

Taylorman
    The add that i read said it also has a tach, voltmeter. Do you use those features on yours. I see you have a tach so assume you dont. Im thinking about buying this unit to replace my tach and voltmeter so i can put in a water pressure gauge where my volt meter is. Doe the receiver pick up ok under your dash?

Unchained
    The receiver picks up fine under the dash.