Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 6x9's...what would you pick?

Phat Matt
    Each speaker will be getting 75w from a JL amp. What speakers do you like?
    Infinity KAPPA 693.5I 6" x 9" 3-Way Loudspeaker (PAIR)
    Features 110W RMS/330W Peak Power Handling
    Frequency Response (±3dB): 35Hz – 22kHz
    Sensitivity: 90dB
    MB Quart DTE-169
    6"x9" 3-way 4 Ohms coaxial system
    RMS Power Range : 60-140 Watts
    Frequency response: 35-32000 Hz
    Diamond Audio M391I
    6 x 9 inch Speaker with 1 inch Alloy Tweeter (Pair)
    Sensitivity: 90 dB
    RMS Power Range : 75-150 Watts
    Frequency response: 42-20000 Hz
    JL Audio VR690-CXi
    VR690-CX 6x9-inch (150x230mm) 2-Way (Pair)
    Sensitivity: 89 dB
    RMS Power Range : 80 Watts
    Frequency response: 53-22000 Hz
    And why?
    Thanks

cdog
    I'm no expert in this subject but I can tell you that now I have the right amp to run 3 sets of my MB Quarts that are water proof. I am very impressed with these speakers. I'm curious to the response of others. I'm thinking of mounting 2 sets of 6x9's under my engine hatch so there loud when your outside the boat. I am running the JL 454 amp for the 3 sets of 6.5's and they're loud enough to piss off the wife when I crank it up.

rivercrazy
    I'm sure all those brands would sound great. Probably depends on what sounds better to your ears. Personally, me ears like the Infinities

ROZ
    All of the speakers listed are very similar, but I'd stay away from the discus series Quarts. You will blow them....If you want to go Quart, go with the RCE269's....
    Chances are that you'll run the amp in a HP mode, so the lower end of the freqyency scale is out the window...
    Go listen to the jl and diamond, and compare to the sound of your kappas(polymer basket)... Pick the pair that sound the best to you....
    For the speakers you have listed, I think the JL's sound smoother... But that's me.... I think the Diamond's sound similar to Bostons(my favorite)....