Thread: Where to Start

Phil1978
    I just a boat for free from a friend who got married and his father in law gave him a new one. Its a fiberglass boat. 30ft long (tip to back) and it needs work: Interior, paint, seats, and engine work. All the parts for the engine are there. It has a 455 Olds on it, but I heard that it was a crappy engine and I also heard it is a good engine. Is it good or bad??? Should I change it. I am new to the boat world but I have always admired them.
    Also I am definetly lost in this project. The boat needs work and I don't know where to start.
    Here a little list that I know that needs to be done: Paint, interior, gauges, electrical, seats, flooring, ... and the list goes on.
    I will try to post some pictures so you guys can see what I am talking about.
    Thank for the help.

Fiat48
    Start by looking at how much this boat is worth after you are done with it. Real market value. Someone once said "A boat is a big hole in the water that you throw money into." Better reason the costs out first.

LakesOnly
    Building a boat is a passion; don't expect the value of the finished project to be as much as what all the receipts will add up to. That being said, you will most likely be better off buying a turn-key boat where someone else is taking the loss...unless you have found a complete jewel that is worthy of the resto/rebuild.
    The Olds 455 engine is a common one, but not necessarily the most popular among the majority of high performance enthusiasts.
    LO

Jet City
    Some very good advice above. You could also post pics and ask particular questions, current boat worth and evaluation. Some of the work you mentioned such as exterior paint (or gel-coat) is very difficult, it will be even more difficult on a 30 footer, not the best boat for a "first" marine project IMO.