Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Berkley pump 101

Jet Novice
    A couple of weeks ago I picked up a 75 18' Hawaiian with a Berkley pump. The ID tag is missing and I am not really sure what pump I have.
    It is not a split bowl and the steering nozzle does not have the nylon o-ring. I've seen pictures of the different pumps on the Berkley site but quite honestly they all look the same to me.
    What do I look for to get a positive ID this pump? Help!! Thanks.

Jet Novice
    Looked at the pictures again, its either a JC or a JG. How to tell the difference? Were all JG's spit bowls? Is the JC as good as the JG?
    I'm just getting into jets so I've got a ton of "back-to-basic" questions. Thanks for your patience guys.

Slick
    JN, a Berkeley JC is a one-piece bowl and a JG is a two-piece bowl. Here is an example of Berk JC: http://www.cpperformance.com/images/150-B-06470.jpg
    And this is an example of a JG: http://www.cpperformance.com/images/150-B-07338.jpg

1quickjet
    Not to interfere with novice's question, but Slick, what seals the nozzle housing to the bowl on the JG? Is it just a bead of silicone, or some sort of gasket?

DickDanger
    1QJ,
    No worries on asking questions here. These guys have been answering just about any dumbass question that I could think up for a few months now. If you are just getting into jets, you are in the right place. Good luck!!! -DD out http://www.plauder-smilies.de/party/drinka.gif

Boater Bill
    There is a gasket on mine. FYI my pump is a JB and the bowl looks the same as a JG. Maybe the prev owner changed bowls.

LeadFootTheRabbit
    Slick, thanks for the jet pics. I just learned a little about my pump.
    Heres a question... What do you guys mean when you talk about the shoe?
    LDFTRBT

nelsonf
    BB a JB is the same as a JG just an earlier model

Jet Novice