Thread: Fuel gauge bouncing. Normal?

Outnumbered
    Ok, I am still learning. Maybe someone with more experience could answer this question?
    I just installed a fuel pressure gauge on my 800 Holley dual feed. The gauge is reading (bouncing between) 4.5-5.5 lbs at idle and about the same at 2,000 rpm. The gauge is bouncing. Is this normal? The engine is running pretty smooth and the gauge is mounted solid. I am running a stock mechanical fuel pump (original I think) on a 1987 Ford 460, 340hp. I have been having some higher RPM misfire and surging and wonder if the fuel pressure may be an issue?
    Thanks is advance for the help,
    OL

Old Lavey:
    Ok, I am still learning. Maybe someone with more experience could answer this question?
    I just installed a fuel pressure gauge on my 800 Holley dual feed. The gauge is reading (bouncing between) 4.5-5.5 lbs at idle and about the same at 2,000 rpm. The gauge is bouncing. Is this normal? The engine is running pretty smooth and the gauge is mounted solid. I am running a stock mechanical fuel pump (original I think) on a 1987 Ford 460, 340hp. I have been having some higher RPM misfire and surging and wonder if the fuel pressure may be an issue?
    Thanks is advance for the help,