Thread: Berkeley bowl question

GREENLEAF13
    I have a berk jc pump that i would like to convert to a split bowl so i can use droop with a diverter etc.. I found a E pump with a split bowl and place diverter, Will the E pump bowl work on my C pump? Its obvious that the suction piece is totaly different but from what i can gather most berk bowls will interchange. This is probably a real simple question but i just want to make sure. Any help or advice would be great as i am fairly new to this. thanks!!!!!

396_WAYS_TO_SPIT
    The bowl will fit

GREENLEAF13
    Thanks 396! I figured it would be ok but it doesnt hurt to double check. By the way what do you think my odds are of removing an impeller form one pump to install install in another? do you usually damage the impeller when removing it?

Jeanyus
    You may want to invest in an impeller puller. Some boat shops will rent them out. Maybee you could borrow one from a friend ?
    http://www.cpperformance.com/images/950-758100.JPG

DeputyDawg
    The bowls will interchange but make sure what you are looking at because an "E" pump is not a split bowl pump. If the "E" pump you found has a split bowl on it, it is because someone changed it out so the bowl was probably a JG bowl to begin with. As far as changing the impellers out there is more to it than just pulling them and swapping them out between two different used pumps. Have you ever changed an impeller before? While your in there check the wear ring and insulator out as well, and be sure to check all your clearences.

GREENLEAF13