Thread: converting a small boat to jet drive

searaider13
    I am new to hot boats I have a 13' searaider w a 60h merc hanging on the back trim tabs hot little speed boat. But the motor is tired and it sits to low in the water in the back. I have in the past worked on a lot of different gas engines from sb-bb- olds, sm-bb chevs, but the one I want to put in this little screamer is a dodge 2.2 turbo. I can get an easy 250 horse out of this powerplant. I am not sure if berkley makes a jet drive half the size of the 12je . Can somebody give me some places to start looking.

Jetmugg
    I say "go for it". There are some New Zealand jet guys who use Subaru engines in their boats. I'm not sure what kind of jet drive unit they use, though.
    Aggressor has advertised their "Junior" jet drives for a while, but I've never seen one. This might be a good application.
    Go for it, and take lots of pics.
    SteveM.

jshirley78
    chicago boat works
    they make the boats that they use over in Australia for jet boat racing. I think those boats are 11 or 13' with sbc powerplants. I believe they are the same ones that built the boat used in one of the recent James Bond movie's

DeputyDawg
    I think thoes boats use Hamilton or Doen pumps.

bottom feeder
    Most of the smaller craft use the axil flow pumps. Dave at Agressor had a sprint boat with a Jr drive and small motor. If i recall correctly he used it for RD testing. As DD said Hamilton, Doen, and for the hard core Scott pumps are most often used.
    For them who have seen the Bond boat here is the info http://www.rmrboats.com/bond.htm
    Yep another product of Idaho

YeLLowBoaT
    What about one of the merc pump that they put in smaller jetboats. I know they make 1 that bolts up to a 240 hp 4.3 v6 that is not very big. might be just the right size for a small boat.

SmokinLowriderSS