Thread: Info On 1964 Stevens In New England

skbob
    I looked at a 1964 Stevens shovelnose v-drive hydro yesterday. The guy said it is a rare boat. It came with a small block chevy, but now has a big block chevy. It has a Casale v-drive. It' been sitting outside for a long time and it's in pretty ratty condition. The deck is cracked, stringers cracked near motor mounts. I couldn't find an ID tag or VIN # tag. The boat needs a total restoration. He said the motor runs. Can anybody give me any information about this boat? I am new to this game, but I've always loved the v-drives. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

DaveA
    With all that hull work required, that's a big project....but if the stringers are cracked, well then, you're looking at a looong time before you get that thing on the water if you're not an accomplished fiberglass craftsman, and/or don't have a big warm workshop to do this stuff in. I'm facing something similar to that with one of my Raysoncrafts- delaminated bottom and stringers. It's gonna require a ton of work and alot of help from many hands over time. I may just try to find another hull and swap hardware.
    Bottom line....he sez it's rare??? it ain't THAT rare, IMHO. Maybe in the Northeast, but it's just not that special to anybody but to who's selling, and who's buying when it's that bad off.
    Look around for a more 'turn-key' project. Especially if it's your first v-drive- there's a number of hulls without power that come up for sale here, on Ebay, and in other venues that are in much better condition and will not require forever to get them running.
    Just my lil' ole' opinion, y'all....So, whaddya think you'll do?

mfrey