Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Hilborn Injection Problems

FlatRat
    O.k.,
    first off we a .30 over 10:01 BBC,990's,comp .595 solid flat tappet.I finished putting a Hilborn stack Injection on.I called Hilborn to get a baseline set-up.They say with my size O pump (finally figured out why it wasn't pumping any fuel to the barrel valve...wrong rotation,hello) to run a 0.16 spring and 0.87 shim with a 105 pill in the primary and a 0.33 spring and no shim on the secondary.Now with all that said when I try and crank it up,it wants to fire but pisses fuel out the airbleeds,floods.Today I put in a 120 pill and same thing.Wrong spool?It's all new to me!I'm lost. :cry: If I get this thing going there maybe an outside chance of showing up at Burley.Any help would be...Dyno-mite!

Any idea where your barrel valve is at?
    I am new to injectors but I can offer this.
    From experience , make sure all of your butterflys are closed. Remove the stacks & use a very thin feeller guage to be sure all are closed. You can open up, but can't close if some are hung open.
    I would then recomend using a leak tester to set you barrel valve. Block your secondary & connect to the main supply to the barrel valve. My crowers on alky are are 27%, probably wan't less for gas, say around 23%.
    Double check the obvious stuff. (spark, timing, firing order)
    Give her a squirt with a bottle & she should fire.
    If not, I would look at the spool orientation, but the leak should tell if something is not right.

Fiat48
    Well done, Morg. You win a cookie.
    I can see it all now. "Morg's Fuel Injection".

Moneypitt
    O.k.,