Thread: Impeller questions

'78 gt boat
    I'm a total noob at this so pardon my stupidity... I'm tryin to learn here. How do I check to see what impeller I'm running without taking anything apart? what should I be running.... I'm sure it has to do with what pump and what horsepower I'm running. A little help here please??

Wicked Performance Boats
    You can guess from how many RPM your turning and guess how much horsepower you got,BUT the only real way to know is to take it apart and look on the back side of the impeller. I say if it works ok, don't worry till it needs rebuilding. Don't lose the boating season! Budlight

'78 gt boat
    Thanks for the info. You are right if it aint broke don't fix it. I would like to have the most performance for the buck. I was on the Berkley website and it recommends a stainless impeller A2 or A based on 400hp @ 4800rpm. It's a JC pump which is no race pump but it will do. What do you think of the other parts out there ie: sport loader scoops, rudders and stuff like that.

Wicked Performance Boats
    I don't have a rudder, but loader grates, if they are the correct ones are great and I like droops too. And last but not least Place diverters are a great asset too. Budlight

El Prosecutor
    Thanks for the info. You are right if it aint broke don't fix it. I would like to have the most performance for the buck. I was on the Berkley website and it recommends a stainless impeller A2 or A based on 400hp @ 4800rpm. It's a JC pump which is no race pump but it will do. What do you think of the other parts out there ie: sport loader scoops, rudders and stuff like that.
    Rudders are great eBay items - I bought one on eBay, used it a while, then sold it on eBay. It was a great rudder, it is just that in all honesty rudders don't really do much on a jet boat.

How do I check to see what impeller I'm running without taking anything apart? :