Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: adjusting cav plates

I want to check the plates for proper adjustment on my hondo runner bottom. How do I do this? The nose seems to stay in the water at wot with very little pressure on the pedal. I've never done this before, so a good discription would be appreciated.

DansBlown73Nordic
    I would also like to know the proper way to adjust them. Is it possible for the plates to not be flat all the way across. Another words maybe turn down on the outside edges?

I am in no way a master at adjusting plates, but I do believe I could give you some good advice...
    Find someone in your area that could go out, & help you do some testing. Everyone you will talk to about setting plates will give a different opinion on how to do it rite. In the long run it seems like everyone's opinion gets you to the same place, Essentially if you can find one person to get you started, then let the boat tell you what it wants, that's what I would recomend.
    Morg.
    [ February 04, 2003, 03:13 PM: Message edited by: Morg ]

DansBlown73Nordic
    I may know more about this then I thought. That is exactly what I have done on my Stevens, but that has a fixed plate, the only adjustments are with a wrench.
    But on my new project I have the adjustable plate. I just thought there may be a good way to set it up close.

West Coast Dave
    We have a Sanger flat bottom w/ a split rear plate and the V-Drive gurus have told us the following to start out at. If you have a T Handle move it all the way forward and get it out of the equation all together. Thats for rough water etc. With no pressure on your foot override pedal, you can take a long straight edge down the bottom of your hull and the end of the plate should be somewhere between 1/8 & 1/16 of an inch above the straight edge. So when you are off the pedal the plate will be slightly up compared to the hull line. Hope this helps!!

Ian