Thread: single vs dual plane intake on turbo

Turboelimtim
    I'm currently running an edelbrock dual plane intake on my 460 ford w/about 10 psi boost turning a AA dominator impellor about 5200 RPM. Would a single plane vs dual plane make any difference? Thanks, Tim
    http://www.***boat.com/image_center/...T0042b-med.jpg

DMOORE
    I'm not an expert on turbos, but I would think that you would want the least amount of restriction in a turbo set up.
    Darrell.

BOOGEYMAN
    Short single planes work the best.

Marty Gras
    After all of the experts have spoken, I would like to add that your most important "tune up" problem is keeping the air and fuel mixed all thru the power band. Often (on draw thru systems) smooth transitions and large ports or large areas within the intake system cause the heavy fuel to fall out of the air stream and onto the floors of the ports, intake manifold, and pressure tubes. Most intercoolers create, velocity, back pressure, turbulence, and help keep the wet fuel suspended. Waste gate systems (done correctly) tend to suffer less problems in this area because they keep the intake velocity higher across the RPM range. TUNE UP (A/F ratio and spark) is more important than TRICK PARTS.

Turboelimtim
    Thanks for the input everyone.
    Marty Gras,