Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VelvetDrive with 2.57:1 Ratio??

MoJetBoPar
    Just scored on an old V-drive with a 2.57:1 ratio velvet drive.
    I'm new to this style of drive and don't know the ratio in the water-cooled Casale or propeller size (it's a 3-blade).
    What would be a good v-drive gearcase ratio to work with my velvet drive (top speed is more important than torque)?
    Any recommendations on a propeller size?
    Is this arrangement more of a ski boat thing than a top mph hot boat?

Stab-n-Steer
    MoJet,
    2.57:1??? Dude, are you sure? That means at 6000 RPM you will have a shaft RPM of 2334. Velvet Drives do come in reduction ratio drives but you don't want that in a v-drive!!! To further explain, you would need a 257% overdrive in the v-drive just to get back to 1:1!!! ie., the motor and prop turning the same RPM... Normally in a v-drive you'll want 10 to 30% overdrive or even more for racing applications. The reduction drives are used on tow and work type boats that spin a very large diameter prop for torque and pulling capacity. They are also used on old style cabin cruisers that have water-displacement hulls (non-planing).
    The reduction ratio velvet drives have a planetary gear reduction box and are longer in length than the 1:1 drives. The only thing I can imagine is that your drive has been modified to lock up the reduction drive and it is really 1:1... But why not use a regular 1:1 drive to begin with?
    S&S
    [ August 15, 2002, 03:45 PM: Message edited by: Stab-n-Steer ]

MoJetBoPar
    Thanks S-n-S,
    I know what you're saying. Even though I'm new to the V-drive ownership, I've seen people mention the ratio's in the range that you mentioned.
    BUT, that's what the tag said on the case of the velvet drive. I hope your right, or I'll be looking for another velvet drive unit.
    How do they "lock-out" that ratio that you spoke of?

Stab-n-Steer
    MoJet,