Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: I need a motor recipe!

Riverat84
    Thinking about building a chevy plant in my jet...
    Starting w/ a block, what would be a good recipe for 500 ballpark HP? I was thinking of starting w/ either a 454 block, or even a newer dart or merlin 500ci block, and then going from there...I was also thinking of putting a mild 6-71 on top also, or it could be NA...so, if some of you guys have some time, could anyone make a list of what i roughly need? im still learning, SORRY :devil:
    thanx,
    Reid

Widetrack
    This is all depends on what you want to do with the boat! Race,cruise,play,ski,ETC. That is what will determine what you will need and want to build! :idea:

DRAG'N FEVER
    You also need to decide from the start weather you are going to build a blown engine or NA engine.
    Oh yeh, first things first. What about your budget.
    Thats the primary regulator of your HP.
    I run a 509ci blown BBC with F.A.S.T. fuel injection, alcohol injection and intercooled producing up to 1400 hp on pump gas/alcohol inj.
    To go that far, building it yourself plus machine work you are looking at ruffly 30k with new parts.
    A stock BBC 454 four bolt main engine is good up to around 800 hp. After that you need to go to a aftermarket block.

Heatseeker
    The only suggestion I have at this point is if you're going with a blower, use an 8-71. No use running a 6-71 hard to feed a big block. An 8-71 will provide more flow with less heat build up.

djunkie
    Buy a crate motor. Have it remachined for marine tolerances and put the right cam in it. Probably be a lot cheaper and should make over 500hp no problem.

VAMI
    500 hp is not to hard to achieve,especially with a 500 inch engine,there many combos you could use for that and make more.That would be your best way to spend $$ is get that good aftermarket block and it should last forever.

Widetrack