Thread: Looking to buy a 1980 boat w/ TRS drive. What do I need to know?

Jeff U.
    Hi all,
    My first post here. Did a search on TRS and came back w/ 18 hits. Seems more of you have this drive than I thought. I have some experiance w/ the Alpha drive and Volvo Penta drive. Had never heard of TRS until now.
    I'm looking at a 1980 Tahiti Daycruiser. It has a 454 and Merc TRS drive. Seller says the outdrive has been "gone thru". What do I need to know? Do I want a boat with this type of drive? I not opposed to swapping out for a new motor and outdrive, but I understand the TRS setup includes a transmission inside the engine compartment, which obviously places the motor further towards the bow. Thus, the motor mounts are further forward too... thus making it impossible to upgrade to a late model motor and Bravo drive (for example).
    Can you guys please school me on this whole thing?
    Thanks,
    Jeff

paradigm shift
    Jeff I am no expert on TRS drives but they are pre Bravo and yes they use a transmission. TRS was a good drive in my opinion. TRS is a mercury drive and parts are still available but will be getting more difficult as time goes on to get easily. There are replacement drives also (Konrad for one) but they are not cheap.
    Mercury went to the Bravo with a built in transmission for cost and mounting easily along with less weight. This allowed moving the motors back which is good or bad thing depending on the boat.
    1980 hull make sure you check it for any water - wood damage. Drive it and like anything used plan on some needed $$$$ TLC. Boating gets in your blood and your pocket book! Buying used I hope you are a do it yourself person as repairs can get costly. Good Luck.
    There are a couple of other boards you can search for info on also. Also the Mercuiserparts site. If you want PM me I can get you more places to look.
    http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/
    http://www.speedwake.com/upload/index.php?s=