Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ***Super NOOB First Thread!!

gokartrder
    Hey guys! My name is Chad and I am a brand new boat owner. My boat isnt new but I am new to it. I have been boating for years with my parents but never worked on the boat....just know all about how to use them. I just recently bought a 1975 Seguaro Jet boat with a 460 Ford in it. Wasnt running right and the guy who sold it to me said I needed a new carb so I bought the brand new holley 750 4 bbl double pumper. Put that baby on with a tune up and she runs perfect. I took it out for the first time and it was alot of fun. Only thing that sucked was the bumps which I anticipated when buying the boat....I knew it wasnt going to be the smoothest ride ever. Reading up on these forums here it seems that you guys know what your talking about and might have somewhat of a fix for that? Ive been reading about ride plates and some other type of plates, but also hear alot of terminology i dont understand. This thread is just to find out what the basics are that I need to worry about. Ride plates etc. Please make it simple for me to understand as I am super noob! What are the first main things that I should be adding to my boat. Any info helps!
    Here are some pics
    http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...0/hatch016.jpg
    http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...0/hatch013.jpg
    http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...0/hatch012.jpg
    http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e1...0/hatch009.jpg

Midlake Crisis
    Welcome to HB and congrats on the boat - looks like a really fun ride. The open bow is great for the extra room.
    Boats like ours are always going to ride a little bumpy, but running with the diverter up definitely helps you get through the chop (if you have don't have one it is the best bang for your upgrade buck IMHO), and I have read that ride plates can help a lot too, but I will let someone who has actually installed one give you the details on that.