Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Johnson Outboard GT300

jechols
    Hey guys need help. First boat ever. 1988 BAJA 220 sport has a 1989 GT300. I bought it 5 months ago and just took it out for the first time. It seems to start ok and idle fine )as long as I don't rev it up in nuetral).I can take off WOT for about 15 feet then there is a shaking of the motor and a sound as if it were a new car being floored when it is in park. woom woom woom woom. Even if I take off slow and gradually give it more I can only get up to about 15 mph if I go 10 mph it runs perfect and is very sound. Just can't go any faster than than 15. RPM guage doesn't work but I would guess it maxes out at about 2000-2200 RPM's before this problem occurs, and I know they are gas hogs but I rode around for about an hour and 15 min. and used 13.4 gallons of gas. I have ZERO knowledge of any watercrafts. It does have a 4 fin prop, a power lift that doesn't work so the motor is set all the way down. Pulled plugs looked ok. There was a more oil on the 2 right side lower plugs. Any pointers??? Thanks

SleekcraftHouston
    ...as long as I don't rev it up in nuetral
    What happens if you rev it up in neutral?
    If this problem only happens while you're in gear, check to see if your rubber between the spline and your prop blades (hub) is split or shows evidence of slipping. Does the prop look like it may have hit something?

jechols
    If I rev it up in nuetral it does the same thing. almost like it had a limiter or governer on it that is set way too low. The prop looks to be in fair cond. having quite a few nicks in it but nothing major.

SleekcraftHouston
    Your prop could be cavitating. If one of your blades is slightly bent then that could make a difference. Do you know the diameter and the pitch of the prop? They should be on the side of the prop hub or when looking from behind the boat, somwhere around your prop nut.