Thread: engine rotation

1fastlx
    I am new to twin engine boats. I have recently bought a 26' wellcraft with twin 350s. The engines have been replaced and the drives have been reworked. My question is are both props supposed to turn in the same direction or has someone done something wrong? I was looking at new props and most sets I have been seeing are RH and LH. What advantage/disadvantage does the rotation have on performance and economy? The boat runs and handles well but speed suffers compared to the other boats with the same setup.

1fastlx
    guess I could give more info. 81 Nova II merc 260s and gen 1 mercruiser drives. I get 50mph at 4700 rpms with 20p props.

GoCiggie31
    I am new to twin engine boats. I have recently bought a 26' wellcraft with twin 350s. The engines have been replaced and the drives have been reworked. My question is are both props supposed to turn in the same direction or has someone done something wrong? I was looking at new props and most sets I have been seeing are RH and LH. What advantage/disadvantage does the rotation have on performance and economy? The boat runs and handles well but speed suffers compared to the other boats with the same setup.
    I believe the early Mercs were the pre-alpha and did not have counter rotating, so normal for that era.
    The 26 Nova's are great wave crushers for their size and are cool ol' school offshore boats.
    They have a pretty deep deadrise and are heavy boats so they will take alot of power to make it go. I have seen some 26Nova II with stock big block/alphas run in the mid 60's ++. Make sure your hull does not have a hook before you start throwing too much monies in engine upgrades.
    Check offshoreonly.com and speedwake.com for lots of info on your model.
    Best of luck and safe boating

curtis73
    I agree. Unless they've been upgraded, those should be Alpha MR drives and although they offered a reverse rotation MR, most were not.

1fastlx